Our Diocese

About the Diocese

The Diocese of Great Britain and Ireland has been the home of the Church Abroad’s presence in Europe since the beginnings of the ROCOR itself, and today maintains its traditions of fostering every dimension of the life of the Russian Orthodox Diaspora across eight countries.

Our Diocesan life encompasses two broad territories — on the one hand, the British Isles (Great Britain and Ireland), and on the other, continental Western Europe — which have been at the heart of the Russian Orthodox Diaspora for centuries. The administrative structure of the Church Abroad’s presence in Europe has changed many times over the course of the past century, with these territories sometimes governed as a single unit, sometimes as vicarial regions, sometimes as separate Dioceses. While for the previous thirty years the ‘British Diocese’ and the ‘European Diocese’ were distinct entities, from September 2018 the Holy Synod has united them together under one Ruling Bishop, creating a common scope for mission, pastoral care and life.

About Holy Orthodoxy

The British Isles

Continental W. Europe

Our Diocese & the ROCOR